Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Panasonic.

TC-P42C2

42" Class Viera C2 Series 720p Plasma(41.6" Diagonal)600Hz Sub-field DriveVIERA Image Viewer (Photo) VIERA Link ENERGY STAR Qualified
Overall:
4.4
4.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TC-P42C2
Review 1 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
MrsKoopdville
Location: Houston, TX
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Cordless phone
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My Favorite Purchase
Date:June 12, 2011
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
"My family and I are really enjoying the great picture and sound quality of this HDTV."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Trevor
Location: Hypoluxo, FL
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very Nice TV
Date:April 26, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, quality japanese panel, no silly "red touch of color" gimmick
Cons: eco/energy saving f/w glitch
"Best Tv I've ever owned. Great picture, best sound I've ever heard from a flat panel (treble 0, bass +7).
Picture settings:
Mode=Cinema
Contrast=55
Brightness 55
color=45
tint=0
Sharpness=50
Color Temp.=Normal
3D Y/C filter=On (Clearer fonts)
All others=Default
Glare is the same as any old cathode ray tube tv, so I don't know why people make such a big deal about it. What were they watching 10-15 years ago? I also have the same problem as Nikko (previous reviewer) did with 3 hr. auto shut off not working, but not setting the clock did fix that.Thanks Nikko for the "workaround". Firmware vers. 2.37, also. Wish they would fix that, but i'm not holding my breath since the highest vers. online is 2.36 Other than that it's perfect in every other way. Very robust, heavy duty quality. I'm already looking at 2011 1080p for the living room. I will never buy (except for PC) LCD, again. As long Panasonic still makes plasma TV's!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Nikko
Location: Beacon, NY
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great TV
Date:April 5, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Easy to use, panel made in japan, industrial-like build quality
Cons: auto shut-off firmware issue
"Excellent picture, very good sound. Only problem is if you set the clock, the 3 hour auto shut-off does not work. If you don't set the clock it works fine. Go figure, it should be the other way around. Definitely a firmware issue. Firmware version 2.37. If they fix that, it would be perfect."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
ducky
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best Dollar Value
Date:March 27, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, picture quality, reputation, reception
Cons: up down buttons too small, poor sound quality, slow to respond to requests
"I evaluated Technology for a living.
Picture Quality Excellent;Sound Quality Poor;Power Up very slow;Channel Change very slow;Photo Viewer very slow;Features Decent;External Connections decent;Rabbit Ear reception outstanding;Ease of Use Very good;Owners Manual confusing;Online Support Very Good;Reputation Outstanding;Value per Dollar Very good;720 resolution unnoticeable;Reliabiity to be determined.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Disatisfied
Location: IL
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Independent repair facility (carry-in or mail-in)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Repaired 2 times in 2 years
Date:February 26, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
"Nice TV. Very good picture for the price. Nice looking and glare was not a problem.
Had to have it repaired within the 1 year warranty and repaired again exactly 1 year later for the same problem. Probably will not buy another panasonic tv.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Bill
Location: New York
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Retailer customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Terrible
Date:January 8, 2011
Cons: Poor quality
"The TV broke in 5 weeks. The repair person had to send for parts twice. Eventually the parts for the repair were not available and the whole TV had to be taken back to Best Buy for a replacement. Fortunately I had an extended warranty that allowed me to get another brand for the replacement. I was without a TV for over 4 weeks."
Review 7 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Joe Blow
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent TV
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: none yet
"I bought this TV in September, and I'm not disappointed with it. I decided to skip the 1080p as most TV signals are only 720p anyway. Even HD signals aren't 1080p. So save your money and get this model."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Tv
Date:November 14, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, Easy to use
Cons: none
"I got this tv in early august as a birthday present in my room. It works for all of my uses. I can play video games, watch sports, and view images on my camera. I have a 52 inch Viera im my living room and it is 1020p. I walk downstairs in the morning and i barely notice any difference in image (very slight difference). In all, this is a great tv. You go panasonic."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: Ill
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Output Jacks
Date:September 7, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Difficult to use, no output jacks for recording off of tuner
"Just got the unit and haven't watched it much yet. The specs say there are no output jacks on this TV. If a TV has a tuner, it is basic to include output jacks. How can we record a show to watch later when we are at work? Don't assume everyone has a cable box or a VCR / DVD recorder with a tuner in it. And if they do, the tuner in the TV would go unused and useless. $5 more in manufacturing costs would have made this unit more enjoyable."
2 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Apache115
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Easy to setup
Date:August 5, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: glare
"Very nice set! Very easy to setup. I believe that for the price - I purchased the best TV available. The SD Card reader is a very cool option to have!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Clark
Location: Northwest Ohio
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great TV
Date:June 29, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Exceeded expectations, Easy to use, great hd picture, excellent sd picture
Cons: only 2 hdmi inputs
"This plasma was out first HDTV. The sale price we paid at the store was unbeatable. We took the TV with us, and within 30 minutes of getting home we were enjoying an excellent HD picture. Standard def picture is outstanding, too. I was concerned that the sound quality might suffer since the speakers do not face forward on flat panel TVs, but the audio is excellent as well. We are extremely pleased with this TV."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Eltee
Location: Wisconsin
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent picture and sound - what a value
Date:June 4, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Exceeded expectations
"The lamp in our four year old 50 inch DLP burned out again for the second time and we decided another replacement was not cost effective. I have been partial to DLP, especially for watching sports, and was even more leery going down in size. To me, Plasma's are superior to LCD's for sporting events, but the 50 inch version of this set was slightly out of our price range. After getting this 42 incher home, unboxed and connected, the drop in screen size was made immediately less noticeable by the unbelievable picture clarity and sound. The Viera system is another killer perk. My wife walked into the room thinking I had already connected our surround sound system, but what she was hearing was the in-set surround. Sounds corny, but it's true and we had a good laugh about it afterward. We did a LOT of side by side comparisons before deciding on this set and in our opinion the picture quality is as good if not better than similar sized and higher priced LCD's. I'd love to have a 60+ inch version of this set someday but for now I have no hesitation saying goodbye to the larger DLP and would recommend this TV to anyone truly interested in getting the most value for their dollar, especially with the economy being what it is these days. Good job Panasonic."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Lou
Location: New York, NY
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great TV!
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Exceeded expectations, Easy to use
"I have this TV about a week now and couldnt be happier!! EXCELLENT PICTURE AND SOUND!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Red
Location: Kinsman OH
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Best TV ever
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Exceeded expectations, Easy to use
"This tv is excellant. The picture is great. Sound is good also. We use directv and everything is so clear and sports are really good. We set the contrast between standard and cinema and you couldn't get a better picture. Setup was so easy. Way to go Panasonic. We did compare other types and other brands and for the price this was the best."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TC-P42C2
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
matt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
sweet deal
Date:March 31, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, Easy to use
Cons: cant lay it down or it will not work.
"I bought this tv and I was able to hook it up in less then five minutes. has lots of features and the video is great. the picture is clean and just looks great. the only thing I wish it had would be a usb port to hook up my pc. but other than that I would buy this tv. And will recommend this to every one."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.