Product Reviews

DMC-FZ70K

LUMIX DMC-FZ70 16.1 MP 60X Zoom Digital Camera - Black
Overall:
4
4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
23 of 30(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DMC-FZ70K
Review 1 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
Quartzsite Kid
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
Easy Peezzie
Date:April 20, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
" I have several digital cameras that have two or more interchangable lenses; macro, wide angel, telephoto, etc. All are great cameras but are heavy and require a large camara bag to carry the equipment. The Panasonic Lumix is a high quality light weight camera that takes cyrstal-clear pictures with up to 1200mm. Outsatanding Value ! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
Anonymous
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
Date:April 14, 2015
Pros: Compact, Easy to use
" I love the optics and wonderful zoom. I get better shots than my daughter's police camera. It is really a great value! "
Review 3 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Naturally
Location: Spring, Texas
I have owned this product for: 2–5 years
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic repair center (mail-in)
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This camera started me on a new life path!!
Date:March 25, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, easy to learn to use everything you need is there
" I know this sounds strange, but this camera was the one I used to create such gorgeous pictures that it started me on my way to becoming a professional nature photographer. So easy to learn on, crisp, colorful, amazing shots were generated by this camera. Incredible micro close up and zoom images. I was even able to get great shots of the blood moon!!! People seeing my shots were asking me what kind of camera I used thinking it was some mega/multi lense thousand dollar camera. Others requests for copies of my pics was amazing to me.
Okay, you can read the specs here on line, these comments come straight from someone who experiences using this awesome camera.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Luvin It
Location: Colorado, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera
Date:March 24, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, easy to learn. tons of features
" The best camera for under $300. Excellent for point and shoot as well as advanced with manual settings. We have purchased 4 of them using several as gifts. Recommend to anyone "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Bill
Location: Dayton, Ohio
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great camera
Date:March 23, 2015
Pros: Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
" This is a very good camera for not being a DSLR. I was tired of carrying all the extra lenses and large bag I needed for DSLR. This is a great camera for vacations. The zoom is very good, and the auto takes very good pictures. Many modes and scene modes to experiment with. Not a DSLR but a great sub for one. Picture quality is excellent. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Hiko
Location: Woodinville, WA, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The best P&S camera
Date:March 23, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: remote-controlled shatter feature
" I was a Nikon man for 45 years. Just before the last Christmas, I bought a Nikon Coolpix L830 but I couldn't hold it still due to the weight of camera with 4 AA batteries and no viewfinder. I returne it and bought a LUMIX DMC-FZ70. With the viewfinder I can hold it steady. (Battery life is much longer using viewfinder.) I shoot almost every day and am trying all the features it gives. Lots of fun! This has given me a fun and joy to my retired life.
Thank you, Panasonic. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
DM
Location: Midwest
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Zoom Zoom Zoom!!!!
Date:January 10, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive, Exceeded expectations, zoom
Cons: slow focus, manual focus would be nice.
" This camera's zoom has exceeded my expectations. While the auto focus might not be what you are needing... and it could use a simpler interface.... It is by all means the best camera I have ever owned (Nikon d300 is now on shelf). I shoot wildlfe photos and this thing is so portable... I used to have to carry a bag that weighed 10lbs full of 3grand in lenses to have what I get from this.. which goes into my edc bag and give me better zoom. "
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CamQueen
Location: New york
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Cordless phone
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love this camera!
Date:December 11, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, long zoom
" I purchased this camera for my trip to Italy and I absolutely love it! The zoom on this thing is fantastic. I was able to shoot from far away and the pictures still came out clear. It is super easy to use and the in camera creative controls allowed me to retouch the pictures right on my camera. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pixygirl
Location: New York, NY, USA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Bought this online after seeing in popup shop
Date:December 11, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, clarity
Cons: doesn't fit in pocket
" Loved the zoom on this. Saw it in NYC and wanted to bite but the price was too high. I bought it once I found a promo because it takes amazing pics. Especially panorama "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Robertski
Location: Laguna Beach
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Know what features you want before purchase. Zoom
Date:November 26, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use
" I researched super-zoom cameras extensively. I am very happy with an earlier DMC-FZ150 with a 24X zoom. When a sale on a refurb FZ70 came along I bought it just for the long 60X zoom and the wide 20mm end.
If I could have only one bridge camera, I would want a tilting LCD (though my FZ150 malfunctions), and a mic input. For the price it can be a fun camera. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
LaRoo
Location: Grand Marais, MN
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
GREAT CAMERA FOR THE PRICE, ONLY LACKING ONE THING
Date:November 24, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Convenient
Cons: no plug-in for remote shutter
" I LOVE THE LIGHTWEIGHTNESS OF THIS CAMERA, so much lighter than my canon with additional lenses. The only problem I have is I can't take pictures on a tripod with a plug-in shutter and I am not the steadiest hand, especially at 60x
magnification. I really like the lowlight ability, and all the other features.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Running Low
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Need Battery Recharger- hard to find!
Date:November 2, 2014
Pros: good grip
" Either it is stolen or lost, but trying to replace the battery charger for this camera has been far too hard! Not available every where I ask. I like the zoom and resolution; better than my older model Panasonic Lumix. Not sure if operator error, but I liked the features of my old Lumix (Z28?) better. "
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
gfieldmd
Location: California
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heavy traveler
Date:September 9, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: wifi
" This camera does it all. From extreme wide angle (wider than any other long zoom camera) to long telephoto. You can either use it simply (Intelligent Auto) or manual.
Satisfied
"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
kanehi
Location: Honolulu, HI
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great bridge camera with multiple features
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, great zoom range, built quality, good battery life
Cons: Poor documentation
" First of all the camera is a tad larger than my Canon SX50 which is a plus because I can hold it more comfortably and steadily and yet surprisingly about the same weight. As any camera there is a learning curve on how to operate it and some people just don't want to learn. Yes it does have a lot of bells and whistles and once you learnt it it's actually a cool camera. I bought this camera to lieu of bringing my dSLR (Canon 70D) on my upcoming trip to NY because it can get pretty heavy after long treks and my son will be using the Canon SX50. Picture quality is on par with the Canon. I was going to get another SX50 but it doesn't have the wide angle range that the FZ70 has and it was more expensive. The thing I missed most is the articulating screen on the SX50. I'm still learning to use the FZ70 and the potentials it has and boy it sure does have a lot of features which can be intimidating. The controls can be overwhelming at first but I'm getting the hang of it. I do recommend to people who buy an advanced point and shoot camera to learn and not whine about it. I do recommend downloading the manual and read it. "
37 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
fortfan
Location: Maryland
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Researched the superzooms and chose this one!
Date:June 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, 60x zoom, fast shutter response
" Love the zoom, features and fast shutter. Not bothered by the lack of an external mic jack, fixed LCD or no remote, as I researched this and was totally aware of the features. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Mickey
Location: Riverside, CA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: Camcorder
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:April 29, 2014
" Hi, I am the one that wrote a previous statement that camara did not print date on picture, well since I could not find a phone number in manual book to call for support I did go to the where I bouhgt it and the store technician after a while of walking through it was able to complete the set-up for printing the date on taken pictures. Since I have had this camara for a short time I have decide to keep it. But I still unhappy about the poor manual book that comes with it "
13 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Mickey
Location: CA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
LumixDMC FZ70
Date:April 28, 2014
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use
" This camara did no fill my expectation it does not print dates on pictures and it is complicated to operate "
1 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Chris L
Location: FL
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
My Third Lumix and a Total Failure
Date:April 5, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality, not supported, windows connection problems
" So many flaws that I dont even know where to start.
But here's one you can try right now. Go to the top of this page (panasonic website) and click on Support. Search for Lumix DMC-FZ70. Got 28 pages of results of which the first 5 dont have this camera. Try again, search by device....click on that option..then pick digital point and shoot cameras from the menu.....you get everything including the kitchen sink but not this camera.
Reason I am looking for support is that when I connect it to my computer (windows 8), the camera is NOT recognized, and I was looking for a driver. Well I cant find one now.
The Camera controls are HORRIBLE. They have introduced a wheel that switches between aperture/shutter speed/exposure compensation/manual focussing. Imagine when you have set the camera on manual, you have to deal with clicking the wheel and rotating it to change settings. Its easy to accidentally click the wheel while rotating it. while looking in the viewfinder to see which feature you are changing. One usually needs manual controls in unusual situations - sports/theatre where one might want preset focus and manual exposure in anticipation of a moving subject. This is the worst time to be dealing with this incredibly cumbersome wheel.
They have limited maximum exposure to only 8 seconds - why is beyond me.
They have changed the features controlled by the round 'rocker' switch. Exposure compensation is now on the wheel, self-timer is not the right position anymore but the down position. white balance is now on the right position and iso on the top position. The changes must be an attempt to frustrate owners of previous models of this camera - congratulations, you succeeded, Panasonic.
My conclusion is that this camera was designed by technicians and NOT field tested by photographers. This is definitely my third and LAST Lumix. "
16 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Omen
Location: Amherst, MA, USA
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Impressive Performance and Value
Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, excellent results
" I had earlier purchased a Panasonic 18X zoom and was favorably impressed with its optics and functionality. I waited for the next Panasonic, even while other powerful zooms made their appearance, because I had a hunch it would be worthwhile to do so. Indeed it was, I brought FZ70 with expedited shipping, as I was heading out to SF to see my son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren and I wanted to be able to test it out during the trip.
My son, as a surprise gift, bought my wife and myself tickets aboard a tour ship that went out into the SF harbor to watch the America's Cup. Our distance ranged from 1/3 to 3/4 miles from the racing craft and the zoom gave me exceptional photos. Not only did the image stabilization take care of my tremors, it also took care of the rolling of the tour ship! I have a collection of truly impressive clear pictures that I only wish I could share with you. This camera is truly an exceptional value. "
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DMC-FZ70K
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love this Camera
Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use
" This is my first LUMIX and I am not disappointed. This is a great camera for the price point.
Very happy with it.
"
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>