Product Reviews

PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound

Bring the action in super close with category class leading 60X optical zoom! (20mm-1200mm) Experience Full 1080/60i HD Panasonic Video recording with auto focus. Zoom focused Dolby Digital quality sound recording locks out ambient noise for enhanced audio quality.
Overall:
3.611
3.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
11 of 18(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Review 1 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
gfieldmd
Location: California
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Heavy traveler
Date:September 9, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: wifi
"This camera does it all. From extreme wide angle (wider than any other long zoom camera) to long telephoto. You can either use it simply (Intelligent Auto) or manual.
Satisfied
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
fortfan
Location: Maryland
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Researched the superzooms and chose this one!
Date:June 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, 60x zoom, fast shutter response
"Love the zoom, features and fast shutter. Not bothered by the lack of an external mic jack, fixed LCD or no remote, as I researched this and was totally aware of the features."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Omen
Location: Amherst, MA, USA
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Impressive Performance and Value
Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, excellent results
"I had earlier purchased a Panasonic 18X zoom and was favorably impressed with its optics and functionality. I waited for the next Panasonic, even while other powerful zooms made their appearance, because I had a hunch it would be worthwhile to do so. Indeed it was, I brought FZ70 with expedited shipping, as I was heading out to SF to see my son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren and I wanted to be able to test it out during the trip.
My son, as a surprise gift, bought my wife and myself tickets aboard a tour ship that went out into the SF harbor to watch the America's Cup. Our distance ranged from 1/3 to 3/4 miles from the racing craft and the zoom gave me exceptional photos. Not only did the image stabilization take care of my tremors, it also took care of the rolling of the tour ship! I have a collection of truly impressive clear pictures that I only wish I could share with you. This camera is truly an exceptional value."
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love this Camera
Date:March 11, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use
"This is my first LUMIX and I am not disappointed. This is a great camera for the price point.
Very happy with it.
"
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: Delaware, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Purchased two of these!
Date:November 29, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: wish the viewer movable for sunlight/glare.
"Purchased one for a trip to Jackson Hole, Wyoming to photograph scenery and animals, etc. It was so great we purchased a second one for our daughter who was going to South Africa for her honeymoon. It takes great zoom shots. All around a great camera. Only thing I would add is the adjustable screen like my previous Panasonic which also covers the screen for protection. Otherwise a fantastic camera."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
BETO
Location: Hayward, CA, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Camcorder
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
JUST ONE THING....WONDERFUL
Date:October 9, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
"IN THE PAST BOUGHT MANY CAMERAS LUMIX AND ALL WERE EXCELLENT AND THIS IS WONDERFUL,THANKS PANASONIC"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Sage
Location: Greybull, WY
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Panaonic FZ70 Great buy
Date:September 16, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: Poor documentation, do not like having manual on computer
"I have only one problem with this camera, that is the fact the majority of the owner's manual has to be downloaded onto the computer. Very basic info in manual included. I have used the FZ7, then the FZ35 and was concerned about quality since this has such a long zoom and I shoot wildlife and scenery and was concerned about shake. Does very well."
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Kathy
Location: Bonita Springs, FL, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for the Price
Date:September 16, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations
"I have owned several Panasonic cameras and they all have met my expectations, including this one. I am using this camera for real estate and nature photography. It takes great interior photos that I convert to virtual tours. For the nature photography the zoom lens works great for that. I am amazed that this gives me that capability all in one camera. The other thing that I find is that I do not have to do a lot of PhotoShoping to enhance the pictures, as the quality of the original photo is very good. Unlike a couple of other reviews, I thoroughly checked out this camera before my purchase to make sure it had and did the things that I needed and expected it to do, and I am totally happy with my purchase of this camera and the quality of the pictures. I found it easy to learn some of the new features and find that it is going to be great to incorporate into one of my hobbies, graphic art."
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
kanehi
Location: Honolulu, HI
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great bridge camera with multiple features
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, great zoom range, built quality, good battery life
Cons: Poor documentation
"First of all the camera is a tad larger than my Canon SX50 which is a plus because I can hold it more comfortably and steadily and yet surprisingly about the same weight. As any camera there is a learning curve on how to operate it and some people just don't want to learn. Yes it does have a lot of bells and whistles and once you learnt it it's actually a cool camera. I bought this camera to lieu of bringing my dSLR (Canon 70D) on my upcoming trip to NY because it can get pretty heavy after long treks and my son will be using the Canon SX50. Picture quality is on par with the Canon. I was going to get another SX50 but it doesn't have the wide angle range that the FZ70 has and it was more expensive. The thing I missed most is the articulating screen on the SX50. I'm still learning to use the FZ70 and the potentials it has and boy it sure does have a lot of features which can be intimidating. The controls can be overwhelming at first but I'm getting the hang of it. I do recommend to people who buy an advanced point and shoot camera to learn and not whine about it. I do recommend downloading the manual and read it."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Kit
Location: New York, NY, USA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
US Open
Date:August 29, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use
"Easy to use, very quick shutter, even in relatively dark conditions."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Panyfan
Location: Oregon, USA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointing
Date:September 16, 2013
Pros: Easy to use, grip, video button, 20 mm wide angle
Cons: Did not meet expectations, on / off switch, soft pictures
"Images are soft compared to my FZ150. Horrible on/off switch. Feel of camera is great. I love the grip. Placement of the video button is great, finally a vid button easy to find without looking for it. Needs remote shutter release capabilities. I miss an articulated screen. First place to start Panasonic is fix the terrible on/off lever. Go back to what the FZ150 has or add a ON/OFF button like other brands have."
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Mickey
Location: Riverside, CA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: Camcorder
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:April 29, 2014
"Hi, I am the one that wrote a previous statement that camara did not print date on picture, well since I could not find a phone number in manual book to call for support I did go to the where I bouhgt it and the store technician after a while of walking through it was able to complete the set-up for printing the date on taken pictures. Since I have had this camara for a short time I have decide to keep it. But I still unhappy about the poor manual book that comes with it"
10 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
JohnH
Location: New South Wales, Australia
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Poor design
Date:September 15, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use
"Well - there's been a fan fare hasn't there? I rushed out and bought one. Then the fun started - couldn't buy the accesories, MACRO enhancer DMW-LC55 and Lens adaptor DMW-LC55. Nasty shock. Then I found a major design flaw - the LED screen does not hinge up or down thereby eliminating many of those macro shots taken from side on. Nor could I use a tripod to photograph the moon, it would take an expert contortionist to achieve that. I didn't check this feauture because I never thought it would be excluded from a camera of this type. I wouldn't have bought it had I known and besides all this, other than the 60X zoom (Grainy), this is an altogether unremarkable camera. Forget the hype and fanfare - it is a LEMON!"
23 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RD
Location: Braintree, MA, USA
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
THe feature longed for - still not there
Date:August 3, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations
"No ability to record audio on a still picture frame, as in a voice memo feature, like on the dmc-fz5 through to the dmc-fz50, the feature was not in the fz100,150, 0r 200 models either do to the .mov file format transfer in the camera matrix over to the avchd format designs."
7 of 116 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Mickey
Location: CA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
LumixDMC FZ70
Date:April 28, 2014
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use
"This camara did no fill my expectation it does not print dates on pictures and it is complicated to operate"
1 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Chris L
Location: FL
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
My Third Lumix and a Total Failure
Date:April 5, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality, not supported, windows connection problems
"So many flaws that I dont even know where to start.
But here's one you can try right now. Go to the top of this page (panasonic website) and click on Support. Search for Lumix DMC-FZ70. Got 28 pages of results of which the first 5 dont have this camera. Try again, search by device....click on that option..then pick digital point and shoot cameras from the menu.....you get everything including the kitchen sink but not this camera.
Reason I am looking for support is that when I connect it to my computer (windows 8), the camera is NOT recognized, and I was looking for a driver. Well I cant find one now.
The Camera controls are HORRIBLE. They have introduced a wheel that switches between aperture/shutter speed/exposure compensation/manual focussing. Imagine when you have set the camera on manual, you have to deal with clicking the wheel and rotating it to change settings. Its easy to accidentally click the wheel while rotating it. while looking in the viewfinder to see which feature you are changing. One usually needs manual controls in unusual situations - sports/theatre where one might want preset focus and manual exposure in anticipation of a moving subject. This is the worst time to be dealing with this incredibly cumbersome wheel.
They have limited maximum exposure to only 8 seconds - why is beyond me.
They have changed the features controlled by the round 'rocker' switch. Exposure compensation is now on the wheel, self-timer is not the right position anymore but the down position. white balance is now on the right position and iso on the top position. The changes must be an attempt to frustrate owners of previous models of this camera - congratulations, you succeeded, Panasonic.
My conclusion is that this camera was designed by technicians and NOT field tested by photographers. This is definitely my third and LAST Lumix."
12 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Larry
Location: New Mexico
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
No Remote Shutter Release
Date:September 10, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no remote shutter release
"I'm an amateur astronomer. I ordered two Lumix DMC FZ70B cameras from B&H on 2 Sep and they were delivered today, 9 Sep. I was very unpleasantly surprised and totally disgusted to discover the cameras have no provision for a remote shutter release, either mechanically or electronically. This makes them virtually worthless for my principal planned use. I cannot imagine why Panasonic did not include this simple feature considering all the other bells and whistles. If I'd known this simple fact I would never have ordered them. These two will be my one and ONLY purchase of Panasonic products! BTW, your site would not accept my registration."
11 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PANASONIC LUMIX FZ70K 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 60X Super Long Zoom and Dolby Digital Sound
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied