Product Reviews

LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera

16x Optical Zoom LEICA DC Lens with 24mm Ultra Wide Angle Power O.I.S.
Overall:
3.111
3.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
4 of 9(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
189 Questions | 199 Answers
Customer Reviews for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Review 1 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doctor J
Location: Boston ma
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: Camcorder
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Initially loved it
Date:July 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to use, Convenient
Cons: Poor quality
"Camera just 2 years old and now ruined because of dust in the sensor which spoils all photos with a bright background ."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Camera Pro
Location: WA
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: once per month or less
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Save Your Money
Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality
"You would think with a name like ZEISS that would be an indicator of quality. NOT! There are engineering issues with this camera that have been discussed at length on other forums. One being the inherant problem with dirt or some other anomalous debris getting on the platen and inside the lense. It is a recurring issue that affects photo quality regardless if sent in for repair. Maybe they forgot to design an "o" ring or something? Never had this issue with the big three or any other camera. My 1956 Leica runs circles around this thing and it uses FILM. It's a shame, that even my camera phone blows this thing out of the water."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Petriedish
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: at least once per week
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
disappointed
Date:October 21, 2012
Pros: Easy to use, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
"Great outdoor pictures but awful at occasions like weddings where the light may be dim. This is even with the flash on"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Wenren
Location: NJ
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Slow on continue shots
Date:February 11, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, picture quality is very good., wide angle helps a lot for close shots.
Cons: you have to wait few seconds between shots
"This is camera is almost perfect one for me, except it is two slow for continuing shots. It seems to take long to get focused on the next shot and even slower if the auto flash light is being powered up."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
DCI-Guy
Location: Kansas City, MO
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointing "Upgrade"
Date:November 16, 2011
Pros: Compact, Convenient, excellent zoom, very good burst mode
Cons: Difficult to use, not any better than previous generation camera, no ability to reduce image compression, no raw format
"I previously had the ZS3 series camera which I LOVED. When I needed to replace it, I naturally went to the ZS8 after reading several reviews about poor image quality on the ZS10. Unfortunately, I didn't realize that the ZS8 was, contrary to its specifications, not even as good as my ZS3. I hope that a firmware update comes out which allows me to reduce the compression on the images and turn off the anti-hand shake feature (like my ZS3 could do). Another option would be a RAW format. Overall, it's still a good camera, but I am disappointed that the newer camera keeps making me long for my old ZS3..."
22 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Scrapbooker
Location: Indianapolis, IN
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I love this camera!
Date:July 23, 2011
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Convenient
Cons: didn't get a lot of documentation on how to use
"I have an expensive SLR, but wanted something smaller that I could pack around in my purse. We took it to Vegas and to a Steve Martin concert. It was awesome! I love the zoom because it can really get up close and personal. There are so many options to use also for the type of pictures you are wanting to take. It took great shots from the airplane, and it took great shots in the concert with no flash. I was amazed when I was able to get the pics developed on how great they looked."
52 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: Philadelphia, PA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
WOW
Date:May 13, 2011
Pros: Compact, Convenient
Cons: Expensive
"This is a replacement for a Lumix I bought 7 years ago and loved -- to death.
16X Leica zoom! And faster!"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LUMIX ZS8 14.1 Megapixel Digital Camera
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied