Product Reviews

DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player

Netflix, CinemaNow, Vudu Compatible Ultra-Fast booting Blu-ray Disc Player New Stylish Interface
Overall:
2.781
2.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
10
12 of 32(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Review 1 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: Texas
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
WASTE OF MONEY
Date:June 23, 2013
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality
" Poor performance, lock-ups. Very limited Apps - no Crackle, No Amazon. Could have done better with a $20 unit. These issue could probably be addressed through the upgrade firmware option, but it appears Panasonic doesn't want to make this product competitive, or at least worth the cost. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
L
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
No wireless!!!
Date:March 5, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor documentation, Poor quality
" This player can only be connected to the Internet via a LAN cable. A basic Internet feature in all devices now is called WIRELESS. How in the world would anyone be able to run a cable far enough to go from their wireless box to their TV, especially on upper floors? I don't get it. "
7 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Chan
Location: Atlanta, GA
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Surprising disappointment
Date:January 19, 2013
Pros: Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality
" When it works, it produces great video both on DVD and Blu-Ray. The firmware issues, freezing, and very, very, very slow Network features (Netflix especially) make this a terror to use.
I was expecting, at the very least, a functioning product even for an entry level blu-ray player from Panasonic. I'm a loyalist to the brand, but I don't think I'll ever buy another disc reader from Panasonic. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Another one stops working
Date:December 24, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor quality
" I think this thing played about a dozen movies before it died less than a year since I purchased it. The same issue other users had that I would have to unplug it once in a while to rest it. Well now that doesnt even work, it powers up and says HELLO on the unit and thats it.. I see it still under warranty but for parts only so I can only imagine I will end up paying for a new unit one way or another. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
j
Location: Columbus, OH
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per month or less
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Still waiting!!!!
Date:December 14, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
" bought in Oct. watched only 2 movies, quit 20 min. into 3rd movie. "
Review 6 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
texan27028
Location: North Carolina
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Inexpensive and cheap
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality, freezes up and becomes unresponsive
" This unit was inexpensive so I picked it up to use in my home office. As soon as I got home and installed it, I began to have problems. The main problem being that I CONSTANTLY have to unplug and plug back in the unit. I'm ok once I get a disc playing or once I get a show playing through Netflix, but if I change shows or turn the unit off and try to turn it back on, I'm taking my chances. I eventually had to place the unit where I can easily unplug/plug the unit in to reboot it.
If I had to do it again, I would not buy this unit due to the inconvenience of it freezing up. I'm close to purchasing a new one and taking a sledge hammer to the one I have.
Buyer beware!! "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
brianh
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Cinavia Free!
Date:July 2, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient, cinavia free
" As of today, the latest firmware is still cinavia free which is a big factor for me. Netflix service works good, plays all BR&DVD movies great. DLNA is sometimes buggy, but I have not tried after latest update. It would sometimes lock up and the only way to get it going again was to unplug it and plug it back in. Overall I think it is a great player for the price with a ton of features. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
MFL
Location: Lancashire, England
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Connectivity
Date:March 15, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor documentation, poor connectivity
" Beware...., this product only outputs "5.1" through HDMI (no separate SPDIF / TOSLink output).
This may result in you having only 2-channel (stereo) emerging from your AV Amp if you connect this to your TV (HDMI to TV and then SPDIF Optical from TV to AV Amp).
I'm still waiting for Panasonic to realise that this might be a problem (to millions of people who already have AV Amps which do not accept HDMI). "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
dontbuythis
Location: uk
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not as advertised
Date:March 8, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor documentation, not as advertised
" Netflix Vudu and CinemaNow not available
Can I have a refund please?
"
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:March 6, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
" network connection does not work.................... at all. just a piece
junk.
"
Review 11 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
TechGeek
Location: New Zealand
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV < 37 inches
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Viera Link" does not work as expected
Date:February 16, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use
" DO NOT purchase this unit expecting the convenience of controlling it via your (Panasonic or other) TV remote!
Despite what other online shopping/review sites may say, the Panasonic DMP-BD75 supports only HDAVI Control version 1, even with the latest firmware available at the time of writing. The minimum requirement for "Viera Link" (control player using TV remote) is HDAVI Control version 2. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Sam I Am
Location: New York
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
You Could Do Worse
Date:February 6, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: occasionally locks up requiring unplug to reboot
" Here's the deal: this player is not for everyone. The cheap price tag comes at a cost - occasionally having to unplug this unit because it locks up. This is an inexpensive player that has great features - but the DLNA is not without issue. I was looking for a player that could play Netflix movies, movies (mp4's) from my PC's hard drive over the network, and blue ray disks. I will say that this device does all this. If you were to buy individual devices to perform these functions you'd pay three times the cost of this player and have multiple connections to deal with (like HDMI and network). I found that once I got used to the quirks of this player (like when it locks up, or takes 60 to 120 seconds to begin streaming a movies from your PC, both without any on-screen information to tell you what is happening), I learned how to avoid these annoyances. I was going to return this to Best Buy after three days of frustration, but once I got the hang of the unit, I found how to make it play what and how I want, so for the price, after all this, I do think it's worth it. BTW, you will need to obtain (free or purchase) a DLNA-compliant media server application like Mezzmo or equivalent in order to stream movies from your PC or network drive to this player. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Jaha
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not worth the bargain price
Date:February 3, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality
" I grabbed this bargain Blu Ray player over other brands simply because I trusted the Panasonic name and still have some of their DVD players which are tanks. After 4 months I have watched 2 Blu Rays on it and maybe half a dozen Netflix films and I wish I had stayed away.
The menu system is slow, cumbersome, and frustrating. The video quality is as expected but the unit freezes all the time when I turn it off or when it sits idle for a while which requires me to unplug it from the wall. Its done this probably a dozen times now in very limited use. Firmware update did nothing to correct.
I regret this purchase and doubt Panasonic will correct the issue through a warranty claim seeing as so many other reviews list the same issues. I have a 4 year protection plan on it at least so we shall see if I can get something different. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
OHIO Mike
Location: OHIO
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
After two month will not Play
Date:January 21, 2012
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality
" Locks up all the time so thatiI have unplug it do anything. Firmware is updated now it happens more. "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
John
Location: New York
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: Cordless phone
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
it works
Date:January 21, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, attractive unit
Cons: remote poor for large hands
" It works well. Off-timer great. Annoying remote. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
S
Location: Ohio
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:December 22, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes all the time
" Freezes all the time, to where i have unplug it to start over. "
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Curmudgeon
Location: Carmel, CA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A very good buy if . . .
Date:December 22, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Durable, Convenient
Cons: Difficult to use
" . . . you read the product spec (which clearly states that it doesn't provide wireless connectivity!), and your broadband connection uses static DNS. If, like mine, it's dynamic, you'll need to spend 45 minutes on the phone with support while they figure out the correct
manual IP and DNS settings.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
TJOmf
Location: SE Wisconsin
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great for Price
Date:December 21, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use
" Very easy to set up, received firmware update via CAT 5 internet wire with no problems.
Very fast boot up - great picture and easy to use remote and menus are intuitive.
For the price, very good unit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
radk
Location: California
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DMP-DB75 Review
Date:November 20, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient, online streaming
Cons: netflix freezes the unit at random times
" Bought this unit at a low price, and I am happy with my purchase. I wasn't looking for anything great, just as good BD/DVD player. What got me interested is the netflix and online streaming options which I tested and overall I am happy.
I wish that this product would also support HULU which would make it perfect. Maybe Panasonic can update the firmware to add HULU functionality.
Pros: Cheap and does the trick for blue disk playback if you are not looking for the greatest and latest. I love online streaming features! Simple to setup and as far as wireless connectivity, no issues for me since I READ THE PRODUCT DESCRIPTION BEFORE BUYING THE PRODUCT. I know, what a concept, eh!
So for all the reviews that complain about wireless connectivity, don't rate the product bad because YOU don't want to take the time to review the specs before purchasing it.
Cons: I did have to power cycle the unit at least twice even after I upgraded the firmware, netflix causes the unit to freeze. Am I returning the unit, no, for the price and features it offers, I am ok with a power cycle once or twice a month. I am assuming that Panasonic is going to come up with another firmware upgrade to resolve this issue.
If you are looking for a inexpensive blue ray player, overall I recommend this product. "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
tjs
Location: Southeast Michigan
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Fine Blu Ray Player
Date:November 10, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use, fast booting
" I purchased this NOT NEEDING any wireless connectivity - only to watch Blu Ray movies. My only requirement: needed a fast-booting player. The BD75 does not disappoint. I have a Panasonic 46" plasma; I appreciate the Viera Link compatibility. The player was easy to set up, and yes, it DOES boot up Blu ray discs quickly. My only disappointment: the player I purchased died 75% of the way through the first movie I watched. Best Buy happily exchanged - this second player has been fantastic. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>