Product Reviews

Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77

Wi-Fi Ready Netflix, CinemaNow, VUDU, Hulu+, YouTube Streaming Ultra Fast Booting and Loading
Overall:
1.562
1.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
12
3 of 16(19%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Review 1 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
txmetal
Location: Texas
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV < 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
DMP BD77 Great Player!
Date:September 19, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, the remote works well with my panasonic tv
Cons: a little slow initially loading bd at first.
" No problems with my Player, didnt need the wifi player is right next to the router. I use net flix a lot, I also have the DMP BD87 model in the bedroom. I works great as well. The major and i think only difference is the BD87 has supports B,G,N wifi connections( which is better for the range and speed for wifi). The BD77 supports G,N only. Remember if you use Net Flix, You Tube, or any other streaming video, to avoid freezing and black screen you need to have a really good connection and plenty of bandwidth i would recommend a Broadband Connection of at least 10Mbits internet speed. I have 30Mbits which is very good. Also use a wireless N router for better range and speed. Yes it takes a little time for the Blue Ray Disk to Initially load, once it does all is fine. There are also settings in the router you can adjust for streaming video, that will allow it allocate more bandwidth for the device that is running video. Having a healthy wifi or LAN is essential for a good experience on any device no matter the Brand. I picked Panasonic because i own a Pana TV "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Disappointed Customer
Location: Jackson, WY
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Sub Par Product At Its Best
Date:September 8, 2013
Pros: Compact, Easy to use
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor documentation, Poor quality, constant error codes
" I have purchased several Panasonic items in the past, varying from TV's, Stereos, Car Stereos, and DVD Players. This one however, is a complete and utter failure. The company should be ashamed to put their name on such a terrible piece of equipment. From day 1 I had to unplug and plug back in. Then after multiple error codes, resets, and multiple unplugging, per the users manual, after a year it has locked up. The machine only says Hello, the TV displays Unusable Signal. Of course it locked up the exact day after the extended warranty expired. Which is simply fate. When I went to the store where it was purchased, the response was simple. "We get this all the time with that machine". I wanted and expected a simple inexpensive DVD player that had Netflix on it, so that my children could use only one TV with an easy navigation.
This however, has been a complete waste of money and time.
Maybe Panasonic has better products, but I'm not willing to spend my hard earned money to risk wasting it on such poor quality.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Frustrated
Location: Pennsylvania
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
37% Failure Rate
Date:November 1, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Easy to use
Cons: audio problems with blu-ray disks, lacking in reliability
" I purchased 19 new Panasonic DMP BD 77 DVD players and within six months 7 of them had developed problems with Blu-Ray disk audio or they have no stopped outputting any signal at all. These devices are used casually throughout our facility most have less than 20 hours of actual use. My concern is what will happen with the other 13 over the next year and all 19 when their warranties expire.
When these players are working the picture and sound is good. They are easy to use. Their price point is very attractive. I would not purchase this model again. I would not recommend them.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
CI Guy
Location: WA State
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Problem Child
Date:September 19, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality, locks up often
" I've only had the unit for about a week but in that time it's locked up numerous times. The only way to unfreeze it is to unplug it and start over. I've done the firmware upgrade which gave me a few more features that I don't care about. Panasonic usually makes good equipment but this model doesn't seem to be one of them. Hopefully, tech support may have an answer. Also, the box says that it's wi-fi ready but not really. It needs an additional (unknown) device to attach wirelessly. When the unit does work, the picture is great. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
cds352
Location: Wisconsin, USA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per month or less
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Disappointed
Date:July 10, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation, Poor quality
" I would not advise anyone to purchase this product. Once I did finally get it connected to the internet it would not let me view netflix at all and had no instructions in how to find the code to activate this device on netflix. I was excited because the price was nice to me but after all of this I am extremely disappointed. If i were not so tired I would be returning this product tonight! But it for sure will be going back to the store tomorrow! "
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Unhappy
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Short life
Date:July 25, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: it's cheap for a reason
" I purchased this player a few months ago and now it does not play. I asked a tech what could be the problem and he said it's either the video board or the power source. Either way, the device does not work and needs to be repaired in such a short period of time. I purchased a Panasonic DVD player several years ago and I'm satisfied with it's performance. Because of that, I decided to purchase a second Panasonic Blue Ray player. What a mistake! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Andrew
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DVD Owners: DO NOT BUY THIS PLAYER
Date:December 17, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation, randomly labels dvds as wrong region
" I'm infuriated. This player randomly labels DVD disks as being in the 'Wrong Region'. At first I believed it was an issue with my individual player, and after tangling with terrible customer service, I was sent a replacement player that seemed to play the disks in question fine. Until it started labeling OTHER RANDOM DVD'S as wrong region! IF YOU WANT TO PLAY DVDS ON THIS PLAYER, AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS. I will never buy a Panasonic Again. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Jimmy
Location: NZ
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Get what you pay for
Date:September 12, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation
" The manual and website are of little use. Haven't been able to connect to folders within my computer. My smartphone doesn't detect the player on my server (but it is there), and Netflix is only available in US (they could have told us that). You tube is the only internet service I can use. I thought I would be able to display my entire computer screen on the TV, not just show photos or play music. ...but hey, it is cheap "
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: Los Angeles
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I found this support type most helpful: Independent repair facility (carry-in or mail-in)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Don't buy... you'll have nothing but problems
Date:March 26, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality, freezes with certain blue ray and dvd movies
" This player even has in its printed manual... "if you have no control with the remote or player's switches" (it freezes up) then unplug it for a minute then start again!
So it's had problems from the start...
Panasonic should recall this model and fix (at no charge to us) the problems!!! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
never again
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
technology gone amuck
Date:March 14, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use
" I cannot remember buying a worse designed product in the last 30 years. It is hard to imagine how a big company could create such a poor product, and then not recall it immediately. This is the last Panasonic product I will buy. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: Charleston, SC
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per month or less
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Complicated
Date:May 26, 2012
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor documentation
" When you buy the product they have no warning that you need an LAN adaptor. The box says wifi capable but when you go to set it up it says you have to buy a chip that isnt included. If I had known that I wouldnt have bought it "
34 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Oldmn
Location: Az
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not worth the money
Date:August 10, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality, will not hold settings
" Unit keeps locking up, if you change any of the Factory settings.
will not hold settings (keeps turning on subtitle's) after playing a BD a regular DVD will have bad distortion in the image.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Arnoud443
Location: Nederland
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
It does the job were it is mad for
Date:June 22, 2013
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations
Cons: wifi adapter not inculded
" The dvd/ blueray player does his job wel. I have fun with it and and can even watch youtube, connected to the internet it does wel. "
Review 14 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
melandodie
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
awful
Date:November 17, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor documentation, Poor quality
" hard to use; wont connect to internet. Dont waste your money! "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Meri
Location: Cleveland, OH
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Do not purchase
Date:December 2, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor quality, won't turn on after 3 months
" Has turned off after 3 months and won't turn on. "
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smart Network Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BD77
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Eddie
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per month or less
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Worst purchase ever!
Date:December 17, 2012
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor quality
This customer did not provide a text review.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.