Product Reviews

Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500

Twin HDMI Output for Video and Audio Premium Sound Capable 3D Blu-ray Disc Player Premium Audio Player Design
Overall:
3.75
3.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Review 1 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Panatechfan
Location: USA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Home appliance
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great Bluray player that needs a little tweaking
Date:August 8, 2013
Pros: Durable, excellent video playback, outstanding analog audio, fast disc loading, has disc tray not slot loader, excellent build quality, audio component width, nice looking
Cons: cd remote track access should be direct, time display is obscured by flip out door, touch panel remote is annoying, buttons need to be on front not top
" First of all, this is a great Blu-ray player for both video and audio.
I don't rate the streaming features, because the software guys keep changing what works and if you really want this, get a PC. This is not a computer. I also don't care about streaming. I want full rez, full frame rate discs.
The picture quality is excellent as is the startup and navigation. Disc access is quick.
The audio part is where this unit shines. Analog sound is outstanding, especially when connected to a high quality amp. CDs really sound great, much better than a conventional player or IPod. Digital is also excellent.
Build quality is excellent, similar to the old Technics audio line. Solid.
What could be better:
1. The time display on the unit needs to have much better viewing angle, when set above the TV. It is hard to read through the flip-up panel due to the brushed aluminum obscuring the time display.
2. Ditch the touch panel remote and use the BDT220's remote, which is good. The touch panel remote is plain annoying and more work.
3. Please, please, make all Blu-ray players' remotes have the ability to hit the number keypad and the CD track plays. No need for the TV to be on or hitting extra keys or menus. It should work just like a Technics CD player. Easy. Add CD playback features and I will pay extra.
4. This unit has a CD tray, which is one of the reasons I bought it. Ditch the slot loaders on the other models, as they scratch discs.
Overall, a great player with a few annoyances, but minor and nice to see someone build quality, rather than cheap. Very happy with it.
5. No buttons on top. These should be on front, so stacking doesn't get in the way.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
nick15
Location: Katy, TX
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A Great Player
Date:April 12, 2013
Pros: Exceeded expectations
Cons: remote touchpad
" I have had several blruray players in the past few years. Most functioning the same, but adding a feature or two here and there. I just figured that if you had a Home Theater System that what you got visually and with matching audio would just always be above the best. Sadly, after purchasing this player I was so wrong! I had no idea that Video and mostly Audio could be further enriched with this player and bottom line, it does! Oh, is there some tweaking that has to be done with the settings, why yes... Did the remote take a step backwords with the touchpad, yes. But, a good remote. I use a Harmony with my theather system so no problems for me personally here. I picked up another player for another older home theater and it did wonders for it as well. Listen, I can see why this player may not be for everyone that won't utilize it's capabilities properly. For me, it's an amazing unit that looks and sounds fantastic! The unit was well designed and is the future reference for other generations that would follow it. Hopefully not for some time to come... "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
LBrize
Location: Logan, West Virginia
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent Quality
Date:March 21, 2013
Pros: Exceeded expectations, quality, features, sound quality, excellent picture
Cons: a little not easy to use
" First, I would like to inform anyone who reads this that I did not have any prior knowledge nor real experience with Panasonic Blu-Ray players. Also, I researched, hard, to find the best player for my dollars. At the time this player was released, The Oppo 93 was out, and was only $100 more. I checked out review after review, and although many may think the Oppo would be the better player, it is, in fact, not.
The BDT 500 is all around a better player. The audio outputs, D/A converters (for analogue), and audio features are top notch. The dual HDMI allows for connecting a tv and a projector simultaneously. Fantastic. Well, I won't go on and on, needless to say, I believe this player is the best deal in the current home theater market. Plenty of apps, plenty of features, and plenty of quality.
Any negatives? Well, yes. I do not like the touch pad remote. Its the reason for my 4 stars on "ease of use." Similar to what is found on laptops, this slidie finger remote control thing is frustrating. If you read the reviews, they will say it is frustrating at first. Well, it continues to be frustrating, although the truth is, it is unique and it does work and, you may like it. For those who don't, download the remote control app for your smart phone and you can chose gesture based or standard type remote, so that's good.
Any other negatives? Not really
The audio outputs are a little tricky when using a Hi fi system and a projector, because the main HDMI will go to the projector, and the sub HDMI will go to your preamp/processor; which will then run to your tv from your processor. In MY setup (and this may be my pre/pro,) I have to use the function that turns off the video to the sub-HDMI output, and outputs audio only through that HDMI, while outputting video to the projector through the main HDMI, before I am able to get True HD, DTS HD, etc.
Once you figure that out, everything works perfectly.
Picture quality? Oustanding. Check out What Hi Fi magazine for a professional review on this player. Also, they tested the Oppo. they liked this one better. True statement. Before I purchased the Panasonic, I emailed What Hi-fi and asked the reviewer which one was the better player. He said he liked the Panny better. Why we haven't seen more reviews in the U.S. on this player, I don't know.
One final note, this player also allows you to play your movies from an external hard drive. Many file formats are compatible. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Hector01
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very Awesome Blu ray Player
Date:February 8, 2013
Pros: Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
Cons: none
" This is the best blu ray player I have owned from panasonic. Instructions are not that difficult to understand and very easy to hook up and get going. The negative reviews I have read are from non Tech savy people and their is nothing wrong with that...but don't bash a very good product and turn others away. As far as the streaming goes Netflix never looked so good and was excellent and when it comes to wifi there are variables that factor in. It is not the fault of the blu ray player it is normaly internet speed or how many devices is using the internet at the same time slowing down the speeds. This I know cause I work in the Telecommunications. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
grooveRegulator
Location: London
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good features, not brilliant implementation
Date:December 29, 2012
Pros: direct samba drive access
Cons: Difficult to use
" I bought this purely because I needed analogue outputs and I needed network ability.
The good : Picture and Audio quality are excellent. Ethernet port is useful (my home network is all cat5e wired only).
The rest :
Remote control is a headache but usable.
The DLNA streaming (using this unit as a client) is fine for audio, but a complete non-starter for video. I don't believe I have managed to play any video files from any DLNA server (I have a few DLNA servers on my home network, XBMC, Twonky on QNAP none work. This is widely reported in other reviews).
The Direct (SAMBA) network drive access is good for SD and lower bitrate HD movie files. I think the maximum workable bitrate this unit can manage for combined audio and video across a wired network is approx 9 Megabits. Full bitrate bluray files can be up to 40 megabits per sec so generally only "compressed" blu ray rips will be playable from the network.
Playing full bitrate blurays from a local USB connected drive works fine.
Some "features" such as 24p etc are only available when playing actual discs.
User Interface is OK, I don't have any other bluray players to compare it with but I suspect its about average.
If all the features worked as they should, eg full bitrate bluray via DLNA and/or SAMBA then it would be the best bluray player on the planet. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
dissatisfied
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
don't buy if....
Date:December 26, 2012
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation, Poor quality
" Do not buy this unit if you want reliable networking. Do not buy this unit if you want a remote control that actually works. Do not buy this unit if you want a menu structure that is clear and easy to navigate. DO buy this unit if you only desire good quality disc playback, and are willing to pay for many other features that are very poorly implemented. "
3 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
fotobug
Location: Madison, Wi
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DNLA Networking Functions Poor..
Date:November 26, 2012
Pros: good sound quality
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, unable to stream mp4 or mpeg2 video from my pc.
" One of the primary uses for this player for me was to access my music/photo/video files on my PC thru the DNLA home networking function. To my regret, this unit and all other Panasonic units will NOT stream MP4 or Mpeg2 video formats from the PC. "They" say you can do that from a memory stick or attached HDD. So, if they can read those files from a directly attached Stick/HDD, why cant they read it wirelessly streamed?? Come on Panasonic, get with the program!! The other manufacturers do this easily, even with their entry level units. "
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Dissatisfied
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Last Pasansonic
Date:November 20, 2012
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation, Poor quality
" This will be the last Pasasonic product I will purchase. The streaming is unreliable at best. Unfortunately, I am 2 weeks out of the warranty period for the retailer where I purchased this unit. Had I anticipated such a bad streaming device, I'd have saved a lot of money on a cheaper Blu Ray player and purchased an A TV instead. Also, the menu interface is simply not good. The remote is the worst joke I think I have seen. A touchpad remote that doesn't sense when you touch it? Or give any feedback so that you know that you did indeed enter a command? Really Panasonic??? I should have believed all the reviews I read. Well at least I won't be making the mistake of buying a Panasonic product again. This review will probably never be seen by the public, but at least the censorers will hear my rant. "
9 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Alex
Location: Ukrenian
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: at least once per month
I have purchased the following product: Car audio
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:October 7, 2012
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, bad to use usb
" Bad read files from USB. Bad USB port to use.
Not read meny Disk witht USB.
"
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
ASH
Location: Holliston, MA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Excellent Player
Date:May 13, 2012
Pros: Exceeded expectations, Easy to use, vudu 3d compatible, netflix dd sound
Cons: Expensive
" Just upgraded from the DMP-BDT350, another excellent player. The new player has an improved interface and a better integration with Panasonic TVs. The best feature is it's excellent high quality 7.1 analog feature for people who have non HDMI Legacy receivers. The other great advantage is it can play VUDU 3D movies unlike the 350 and Netflix plays with DD sound.
Overall an excellent and highly recommended player.
"
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Smart Network 3D Blu-Ray Disc Player DMP-BDT500
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4.5 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied