Product Reviews

Streaming Media Player

Miracast – Stream movies, images, music and more from your Android smart device to your large screen TV Built-in Web Browser – Enjoy web content on your Big Screen TV VIERA Connect – enjoy a wide variety of Internet Content Built-in Wi-Fi
Overall:
3.636
3.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streaming Media Player
Review 1 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
OS
Location: New Jersey
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Love the idea. Disappointed with the execution.
Date:July 22, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation
"I love the idea behind this device. However, I find it to be difficult to navigate, which is very frustrating. After much fussing around, I was finally able to browse some of my favorite YouTube Channels, and the experience of having it on my TV screen vs. my laptop or tablet was awesome. Unfortunately, moving around youtube was again, frustrating and I eventually gave up and used my laptop again. It took a while to connect to Netflix (4 days in a row), but once it worked, I watched 3 movies in a row and I loved the convenience of that. Unfortunately, there wasn't anything convenient about this gadget. From setup to connecting to navigating, the process was stressful and daunting. The fact that an owner's manual doesn't come with the box and any info and assistance you need, you have to go on the web really annoyed me. If navigating the device was simpler, this would be pretty amazing."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
2.5gt
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
  • Verified Purchaser
Does the job
Date:June 25, 2013
Pros: Durable, stylish, variety
Cons: Did not meet expectations
"Out if the box, it was slim and sleek. It was easy to install and setup.
This streaming media player has it's bright spots and not so bright spots.
Let's start with interface. Navigating the menu was not intuitive. You think you would need to push the arrow key to highlight and then return to select, but all you need to do is pick a direction. less clicks is good but i had to go back a lot if I didn't choose correctly.
The apps that are available are good. It has all the usual plus a few more. Some require certain additional hardware to use such as Miracast and universal remote function. You need a compatible tablet or phone for Miracast and a Panasonic TV to use the universal remote buttons.
I like that you can customize the the menu and save it for each user. especially if each person using has different go to apps.
I like that it has DLNA but it required me to manually enter the info for networked devices I wanted to connect with.
I wished I could hook up a keyboard to have some kind on keyboard integrated to the remote to optimize web browsing and searching.
It's great that there is a web browser app.
I do like the remote. The size and button lay out is great and comfortable to use.
The built in Wi-fi is a bonus and works well.
Overall, this is a very capable device and is priced reasonably. It just did not meet my expectations but it is headed in the right direction."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Streaming Media Player
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation
"Looks good, price was right and set up was easy. Functionality and response was horrible. Navigating web sites was horrific."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
FelixJ
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Satisfactory product for the right expectations
Date:June 19, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, easy network connection
Cons: inconsistent user interface, no analog outputs, no digital audio output
"Basically this product does what it promises, and the price is right. It does a few things better than the competition, and has a few unexpected nice touches, such as the ability to use your own photo as a menu background, and the lightning fast photo slide show display. It falls short in a couple of areas, such as limited video file type/codec support and a few missing apps that I use a lot on other media players (such as Crackle, BBC News). But the basics all work fine, and it does quite well in normal operation.
WiFi reception seems good, so I don't feel any need to use a wired connection. Connection to network DLNA servers and shared folders works fine. The core online services are there and work fine.
The fact that it has only an HDMI output is problematic for many people, but the spec is clear about that.
The user interface deserves some criticism, not so much because response is a bit sluggish in areas, but because it's so inconsistent. I also have to say that the menu color scheme is awful.
I had a fair share of problems with the setup process for the apps which might be daunting to an inexperienced user, but it works smoothly enough once things are set up.
People who haven't used any other competitive media players (or smart TV/Blu-Ray players) might have unrealistic expectations for these devices, but I would put the capability versus price of this player right in the middle of the competitors. There's cetainly nothing I would consider a major deficiency as long as you are ok with the single HDMI output."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
TENNESSEEUSER
Location: Murfreesboro, TN, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
nice product panasonic-DMP-MST60P-S
Date:June 5, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
"the first thing that I noticed was that the packaging and directions where very nice and easy to underestand. the unit itself is very well built and sturdy. it also looks very nice and sleek. the connection of the unit was very easy and quick. I had no trouble connecting to my router. I could accesss anyting that I wanted easily. the streaming speed is very good with no slow downs or pauses. The selection of streaming choices is very good and I could get to everything that I wanted. Nice job Panasonic.
I would for sure order again. recommended to anyone looking for a nice streaming box.
"
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
TENNESSEEUSER
Location: Murfreesboro, TN, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
nice product panasonic-DMP-MST60P-S
Date:June 5, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
"the first thing that I noticed was that the packaging and directions where very nice and easy to underestand. the unit itself is very well built and sturdy. it also looks very nice and sleek. the connection of the unit was very easy and quick. I had no trouble connecting to my router. I could accesss anyting that I wanted easily. the streaming speed is very good with no slow downs or pauses. The selection of streaming choices is very good and I could get to everything that I wanted. Nice job Panasonic.
I would for sure order again. recommended to anyone looking for a nice streaming box.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
ACO
Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
Does Exactly What It Should
Date:May 31, 2013
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient
"Opened the box and it had more accessories than I would have expected Hdmi cable, a remote which controls my Panasonic TV as well very pleased with the choices of web content Netflix being the major one I use. starts up quickly and Video quality was excellent and even supported 3d content on my 3d projector> I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a high quality web content player who does not need a blu ray player."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: Healthcare or personal grooming
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Nice multimedia player
Date:June 4, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient
Cons: miracast doesn't work on every mobile device
"I have been using this Streaming media player for the last month and am enjoying using it every day for the following reasons:
I have a non-smart tv in my bedroom that I want to stream netlix, pandora, youtube and Amazon Instant Videos to. This device provides all of these options and does it well.
The device has a lot of other features that can be really useful, like Miracast. The ability to be able to stream media from your Android mobile devices directly to your tv using this multimedia player is awesome. I plan on buying an Android tablet to use this feature. I do wish that ALL mobile devices could use Miracast, but the technology is not yet accepted by everyone. I have another streaming media player that uses a different wireless technology. I wish these technologies would both work for all of my family's mobile devices.
I look forward to trying out some additional features like integrating it with my home network and streaming movies from my hard drive. I also can't wait to use the 2D-3D converting feature with my 3D Pananasonic Plasma TV. Panasonic makes amazing televisions and this streaming media player compliments this.
This device connected quickly to my network and internet. I was up and running in 20 minutes, from the time I opened the box.
I do wish that this device was quicker, however. There are times when I am patiently waiting for screens or menus to open. It's slightly underpowered for a brand new product like this. Overall, for the value, I think this an extremely useful media player that I will enjoy using on a daily basis, with my family."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Streaming Media Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Ajayjohn
Location: New Jersey, USA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Can't beat the current price!
Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
"I knew going in that Miracast is not neccessarily ready for prime time, but the DMP-MST60 worked for both our HTC ONE and Galaxy 4 phones. It took several tries and I turned the high band off on my dual band router as someone advised. Once it connected it was nearly flawless. Unlike many other products, this one comes with all cords etc."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Streaming Media Player
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied