Product Reviews

DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion

Upconvert DVD Recorder with VHS VCR, Digital Tuner 1080p Up-Conversion, HDMI Simple Connection VIERALink, SD Memory Card Slot, USB Terminal Super Multi-Format Recording Playback
Overall:
2.554
2.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
8
2 stars
14
1 star
18
17 of 56(30%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Review 1 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
sam
Location: Leimert Park
I have owned this product for: 2–5 years
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Panasonic Needs to Improve
Date:March 28, 2012
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Poor quality, requires frequent resets, requires clock resets
"Have a new and a refurb model They don't recognize RAM discs any longer and both units have to be reset several times a month, sometimes several times in a week. They both lose time and I have to reset the clock at least twice a month. I don't have cable.
The recording quality is ok. Fortunately my remotes still work fine. As for Panasonic, I am amazed that they have done nothing to improve upon the 'brains' of this model so that these frequent failures become less frequent. For this reason alone, I will not buy another Panasonic product. I don't trust their engineering or quality control."
Review 2 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
JWR
Location: Gloucester VA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic repair center (mail-in)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Second Purchase - Poor Choice !!??
Date:March 26, 2012
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Poor quality
"My DMR-EZ48V is the SECOND Panasonic dual VHS/DVD recorder I've purchased. The first (nearly identical DMR-35V) stopped recording DVDs and wouldn't recognize any format of DVD recordable discs and sometimes wouldn't answer the remote or even open the drive to retreave discs. We ended up buying a new model (EX48VS) that turned out to be just a newer model of what looks and acts like the older model - mainly because of price and the very few choices of VHS/DVD recorders of any brand. After ONLY 4-months (bought before Christmas) the new model stopped recording DVDs in nearly the same manner as the other. Won't recognize a new disc and once it can't find or format a disc, the disc functions cease to work at all. Just now starting the process to seek repair / replacement for the new one! Spend a little more and get something that'll last longer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
TAKEN
Location: HONOLULU
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: once per month or less
I have purchased the following product: Cordless phone
I found this support type most helpful: Independent repair facility (carry-in or mail-in)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:March 23, 2012
Cons: Poor quality
"bOUGHT TWO UNITS AND BOTH ARE DEFECTIVE. NO CONVENIENT REPAIR SHOP. NOT SATISFIED WITH PANASONIC QUALITY OF PRODUCT"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Eustis
Location: New Mexico
I have owned this product for: over 5 years
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I like it
Date:March 8, 2012
Pros: Durable, Convenient
Cons: Expensive
"I purchased mine in 2006, so it looks like the newer model and probably has been updated/upgraded. It works well, records well from tv. I have yet to transfer a vhs tape to dvd, which is why I bought it so I could get rid of the vcr tapes, but still plan on doing so. Up until about 6 weeks ago, it worked great but now the remote control doesn't work the machine. I got another one and it doesn't work either so I suspect it is the machine and not the remote. Have had several Panasonic items including a Lumix camera that I really really like."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Jimmer
Location: Portland, OR
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Read the fine print before purchasing.
Date:March 6, 2012
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Expensive, Poor quality
"I have to admit, i'm not the most savvy when it comes to electronics, so i did a lot of research. I guess i didn't do enough because it may say HDMI, but it doesn't record in HDMI. My recordings look fuzzy. If you are into sports, you can't read the letters on the back of their jerseys."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
DLS
Location: Oklahoma
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Poor Performance
Date:February 16, 2012
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Poor quality
"The unit only lasted 5.5 months before a complete failure. The unit just sit in constant diagnostics all the time. Cannot remove tape or DVD. I will never purchase a Panasonic item again after this experience."
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Gman
Location: Los Angeles
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: at least once per week
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
The Best of the DVD Recorders and many Extras !
Date:February 7, 2012
Pros: Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, pass through technology, sd and usb inputs, large buttons on remote, better quality recordings, ez settings and adjustments, ez to set up recordings
"I have owned many DVD recorders since first on the market back in 2002. The Panasonic offers a few smart things to the mix. I do like the superior quality of the unit, its clear, crisp images, ability to record on all formats of discs, flexibiity to record, and a great remote control. The only unexpected missing item was the eject button not on the remote. But after using the unit and remote, I guess Panasonic was concerned that while the recorder was still in use, there could be malfuntions if eject were accidentally on the remote. The inputs for camcorders, USB input, SD reader, many outputs are great to have for a variety of devices. Having the built in tuner also is important and vital in todays ever changing technology. There is pass through ability as well, when the unit is shut off, the signal continues to go to the TV. Im quite happy with this well thought out product and when I read dismay from some users I immediately understand that they may not be as tech savy or may not have read the instructions. I am glad to have made this purchase with yet another fine product from Panasonic. Lastly, its great to have the ability to copy VHS tapes to DVD with ease. Thanks Panasonic !"
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Say no to soda
Location: California
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Digital still camera
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Subpar when compared with other Panasonic products
Date:January 14, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality, unreliable recorder
"I like Panasonic and I have lots of Panasonic products at home, and no doubt this one is disappointing. I'm not happy with the picture quality. I haven't yet figured out how to get it to pick up time from cable signal. But the worst of all is its lack of reliability - it could freeze! I bought it for my wife to record evening news. She hates it. Now I turned to Media Center in Win7. It's much more flexible and capable. But reliability is still not perfect. Sometimes the PC could still fail to wake up to perform recording."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Bee
Location: St. Louis, MO
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: Accessory (battery, cable, SD memory card, etc.)
I found this support type most helpful: Retailer customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Needs a hard drive
Date:January 3, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no hard drive
"A Blu-ray recorder-player with a hard drive, cable-card slot, and internet-connected capacity would be ideal, but the HARD DRIVE is what this recorder-player is sorely lacking.We want to be able to record tv shows and delete them routinely as well as have the option to record on dvd disc.
We want a stand-alone machine that both play and record, access the internet, and can record cable and OTA programs on both hard drive and on physical dvd disc. Why is this offered everywhere but the US?"
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Kaicanoe
Location: Kailua, Hi
I have owned this product for: over 5 years
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Needs Updated Codec
Date:December 28, 2011
Pros: Convenient, gr8 for watching avi from thumbdrive
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor documentation
"Love the unit because I use it mostly to view DivX, Xvid, & Avi movies from the USB thumb drive that I plug in. The picture & sound leave something to be desired, but, is viewable & listenable.
However with flv, mpeg4, and the like available, I cannot play these on the unit & enjoy them on my TV,
Panasonic should be able to set up a firmware to install that will read these files. I've asked, with no response. For that, I gave it a 1 for Customer Service.
The newBluRay players show a full picture & very good sound on the TV from the avi files.
Complaints about not keeping time can be solved by hooking up the TV input jack on the back to cable, & setting the VHS channel to PBS. Mine is Channel 10. It now keeps time within a minute of my DVR Atlantic settop.
Original usage was to transfer VHS tapes to DVD's. Also to copy TV shows to DVD.
Now, the main game is watching internet downloaded movies from my thumb drive on the USB slot.
Come on Panasonic, get some better usage out of your products.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
tommy
Location: denver colorado
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:December 20, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor quality
"purchased two recorders. both failed in the same manner. while using the remote the unit froze and would not respond to any commands. could only power down by unplugging from the power source. after plugging it back in the unit would cycle through an initial start-up and then power down. also, while stepping through the channels, the video would terminate mid-range. ugly !"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
JOHN
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Retailer customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
SET UP
Date:December 12, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor documentation
"I bought a DVD Recorder DMR-EZ485Vquick setup guide look at the connection A,B or C did not mention about HDMI cables w/ cable box call 3 times i was told 3 difrent ways to set it up i will return it real soon i did just bought a great Panasonic TC-PS DO NOT BUY the DVD RECORDER!!!"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
sm
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: once per month or less
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Bad clock and sound
Date:December 9, 2011
Pros: features
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Poor quality
"Needs a better clock (loses 30 seconds a week). As far as the sound goes, I have to turn the volume way up to hear anything. The clock problem is inexcusable, and because of this I mostly do not use it unless I want to record a DVD or if my other VCRs (both of which are Panasonics, considerably older, and have none of these problems) are busy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Fed up with digital t.v.
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
DMR-EZ48V
Date:December 2, 2011
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, turn it on it takes forever b4 u can do anything
"For the price, I expected a better piece of equipment. You turn the recorder on, and it takes forever for it to boot up to where you can do anything. It doesn't even show you how much time is left on dvd's when you're watching them. My pre digital t.v. units booted up quickly and they would show how much time was left on vhs tapes or dvds. While watching dvd's, the unit will flash up a little box showing you that you're watching a dvd - duh! Sometimes, it will pop up repeatedly. Is not very user friendly."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Anonymous
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Ease of Use
Date:December 1, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation
"Let's just say I am taking this unit back and getting an EASIER one to use."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
frabrit
Location: Austin Texas
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Older models are better
Date:December 1, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, worse than older models, atsc tuner does not work well
"I have an earlier version of this item but it only has a ntsc tuner, so I bought this one because it has a atsc tuner. The atsc tuner on my Panasonic Viera TV gets 16 beautiful HD channels. Imagine my consternation when I found that the atsc tuner on this new version recorder will only pick up two channels. The tuner is terrible. Also the new item is "tinny" versus the older solid one. It takes a long time to start and it clunks like a 1928 ford pick-up while starting. The older one was so very smooth and really terrific. I would still keep this new one IF it had a decent tuner, but it does not. Panasonic, try harder please."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
robbie
Location: Fort Worth Texas
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic repair center (mail-in)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
freeze frame tips
Date:November 25, 2011
Pros: Easy to use, Durable, Convenient
Cons: Expensive, make sure you understand all menu options
This customer did not provide a text review.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
cjs
Location: Hagerstown, MD
I have owned this product for: 2–5 years
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Other
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gets a lot of use
Date:November 22, 2011
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Convenient
Cons: Poor documentation
"I bought this because I still do a ton of taping - usually 10-20 hours a week from Turner Classic Movies. I tape on VHS and this machine works great for that. It still has the tuner which few machines have any more. I use it to play dvd's but it has problems with some - such as the Warner Archive dvd's that TCM advertises. I recorded just one dvd and that worked fine. I have not used the usb or sd card portions. I actually bought 3 of these so if something happened, I would have spares but so far (knock on wood) I've been using it heavily for over 2 1/2 years and no problems."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
rob
Location: canada
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: Independent repair facility (carry-in or mail-in)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
not a hope
Date:November 10, 2011
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Poor documentation, Poor quality
"bought not even 2 years ago have to cross fingers if it will even play a dvd have gone thru one mother board before 6 months were up lucky had warranty for year. after repair worked great but this time think im looking somewhere else sick of freezing up half time cant rely on it to do anything Unless u like stills off your movie will never bye again"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DMR-EZ48VK DVD Recorder with Upconversion
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Pete
Location: Philadelphia Area
I have owned this product for: 2–5 years
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
3 Years of Finger crossing
Date:October 12, 2011
Pros: when it worksit does well.
Cons: Difficult to use, Poor documentation, unreliable
"Well, I've had mine for 3 yrs now and still can't get it to work at all with Dual Layer DVD's. I never know when it will hang-up, fail to format, go into self-check mode, etc. It will not read (or format) new, pristine, Verbatium DVD+RW. Worst manual I've ever seen. Tried to install firmware up-grade...you guessed it! Still don't know if its because of CD-R I burned up-grade to or what.
That being said, I will give-in and request an RMA # and SEND IT BACK, and MAYBE PANASONIC WILL MAKE IT WORK!!!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>