Product Reviews

SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar

Sound Bar Home Theater System 3D Pass Through Clear-mode Dialog Advance Bamboo Cone
Overall:
4
4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Review 1 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
TDB Dad
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Tough to set up with a cable box
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: Compact, Convenient
Cons: tough to figure out installation
"A rough start. Had trouble figuring out how to set it up with the HDMI cables. Only so many HDMI plugs available on the Panasonic Viera tv. Instructions didn't work so well, and it's not intuitive. But we figured it out and now it works great. Still trying to figure out how to make the cable remote turn on the sound bar when we initially turn on the tv. Once we use the sound bar remote to turn on the sound bar, the volume control on the cable remote works just fine."
Review 2 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
nel
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great
Date:November 16, 2011
"great great great great great great great great great great great"
1 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
Esther in Texas
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
below average and inconsistant perfomer
Date:October 17, 2011
Pros: Compact, Convenient
Cons: Expensive, Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, inconsistant remote use
"Does not perform with Viera TV"
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
2
Extremely Satisfied
JC
Location: Southern California
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: once per month or less
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Doesn't integrate with Panasonic home theater
Date:June 23, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Difficult to use, Poor documentation
"I bought this sound bar as part of a package that included a TC-P54VT25 3D plasma, and SC-BTT350 BluRay/Home theater system. No matter what I've tried, it does not appear to be possible to use the sound bar if the SC-BTT350 is also connected.
I finally gave up and it's back in it's box.
I expected Panasonic's products to operate together better than they do."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Grampa
Location: Rual western Wisconsin
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
99 percent satisfied
Date:February 28, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, Easy to use
Cons: indicator lites do their own thing at times
"I enjoy the clear sound mode, as waiting for hearing aid so it really made a difference and cannot wait to listem after I receive them. Only fault was my indicator lites have a mind of their own and sometimes, most of the time decide not to work. The system options still work tho. Support was great, I elected not to send it as live in country and too incovenient to have to pack and ship. Recommend the unit highly"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
John G.
Location: Coeur d' Alene, ID
I have owned this product for: 6–12 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Cordless phone
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Amazing Soundbar
Date:July 24, 2011
Pros: Compact, Durable, Exceeded expectations, fantastic sound quality
"I have owned this Panasonic soundbar going on a year now.
I am completely satisfied with this product. One of the best home electronic purchases I have made.
This soundbar produces amazing sound for a one-piece unit. The sound is the best feature of this product! Amazing."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
1
Extremely Satisfied
Gumborg
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Good features but frustrating start
Date:December 10, 2011
Pros: Compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Poor documentation, Difficult to use
"I purchased this because:
1) The sound of the Panasonic TV by itself was only so-so
2) The ARC connection should allow operation with the TV remote to be seamless, unlike any other brand sound bar system
The sound it provides is much better, so I achieved my goal for #1.
However, getting the device to work with the TV remote proved challenging. I also have the Panasonic Blu-Ray player which turned out to be the devil's triangle.
I connected the sound bar to HDMI 1 (ARC) on both sides but even after changing all the VieraLink and Audio settings (which do not always agree with their user manuals) I still could not get the sound bar to turn on with the tv or to change volume with the tv remote. I finally discovered that during setup I have to disconnect the blu-ray player to get it to work right.
When I re-connected the blu-ray player that remote then controlled all the speakers, the 5.1 surround speakers that came with the blu-ray player and the sound bar. I was ok with that. When I switched off the blu-ray player, the tv remote no longer controlled the sound bar but now the blu-ray remote did! Confused?
Bottom line: Don't buy both the sound bar and the surround-sound system and expect both to work as advertised. You can get awesome sound out of the 5.1 system and really good sound from the sound bar, but the added controllability may remain "challenging"."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
mikeyt
Location: catonsville, md
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV < 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
great product
Date:January 17, 2012
Pros: Easy to use, Convenient, easy hook up to panasonic tvs
Cons: Expensive, a little bit pricey
"I received the soundbar as a Christmas present. I own a panasonic tv and the one hdmi cable hookup was easy. Took some time to decipher the instructions in the tv's manual on how to setup the tv to recognize the soundbar.... but after 10 minutes it was up and running. The sound is awesome and now we can hear the tv when we rent dvds. I m totally satisfied!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Clark W.
Location: Breckenridge, Colorado
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Cordless phone
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
very nice item
Date:May 4, 2011
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, great sound
"I am impressed. This is one great soundbar! Compact, sturdy, well-built, high quality item. Awesome sound too!
100% Satisfied."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
Robt
Location: New Orleans, LA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: VIERA TV >= 37 inches
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic web site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
NO mp3 input / BAD manual
Date:January 30, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, rich sound
Cons: Poor documentation
"but GREAT sound + easy to hook-up to a Panasonic 'Viera' TV.
[can't imagine syncing to another brand TV]
The Sound Bar's 'minimal' design (which I like alot) doesn't allow for an easy display... hoping the Sound Bar settings would show on the TV's display; but no, just alot of guesswork / listening / trying to understand what you've set ("3 blinking lights then press * again"!?!)
p.s. the person who wrote Panasonic's Viera TV manual, should have written the Sound Bar manual, too.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
Happy Peach
Location: Brunswick, GA
I have owned this product for: 1–2 years
I use this product: at least once per week
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Love it!
Date:June 25, 2011
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Durable, Convenient
"Havind all Panasonic components made using this unit simple. Once I plug the HDMI cable into the correct HDMI port of the TV. Plugging this into HDMI 1 and everything works great. The unit and TV owrk based on your TV having an Audio Return Channel (ARC). This is located on my G-20 in HDMI port 1. Should have gone with the SC-HTB520 though for more kick. For what it is this system rocks, not really made to sit onto of an entertainment table the sound bar gets in the way of the remote sensor on the TV."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Gary
Location: NJ
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: more than once per day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
WOW!
Date:December 12, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Compact, Durable, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, Easy to use
"I just bought this soundbar today at Sears. I did my homework looking at other units , but they cost so much more than this Panasonic. I do not have room to place a seperate subwoffer so this one advertises a built in sub. Granted it may not be as effective as a stand alone, but this system really does give great audio! It is 100% better than the television speakers. There are several settings to fit the sound to your liking. If you are on the fence about buying one, do not be! get one and try it."
35 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SC-HTB10 Home Theater System Sound Bar
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied