Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)

My Home Screen Swipe Share 2.0 Voice Interaction Built-In Camera Infinite Black Ultra One Sheet of Glass Design 3,000 Focused Field Drive 30,720 Gradation Steps with DCI 98% Color Space 1080p Full HD Resolution, Full HD 3D
Overall:
5
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Review 1 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
rusty
Location: New York, NY
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
I love my new 65VT60
Date:September 10, 2013
Cons: Expensive
"I purchased the Panasonic 65VT60, 8 weeks ago. I have been able to use it consistently since purchasing and this is by far the best TV I have ever seen or owned. I am so glad I made this purchase.
• Picture Quality –
o Action Movies: I recently watched The Amazing Spiderman on blue ray, with this tv. The picture was outstanding. Crisp, clear and bright. I tried out the “vivid” setting on this movie and was blown away by the contrast and black levels. It felt like I was in the tv
o Sports: I’ve been patiently waiting for football season to come back before writing this review. One of the main reasons for buying this tv was to watch football every Sunday. The 65VT60 did not disappoint. There was no motion blur whatsoever, while watching live football action. I watched the Superbowl last year on a 70inch LED and my 65VT60 blew that TV out of the water.
o Various cable programs: I’m still playing around with the various picture settings to figure out what works best for each program at different times of the day. This tv is placed in a bright room and the THX bright room option is perfect for day time watching.
• VIERA® Remote 2 – I downloaded the Panasonic remote app for my Iphone 4S. I love that I can access all features of the tv, including advanced picture adjustments, through my smartphone. The app is extremely user friendly, even my wife was able to use it.
• My Home Screen is the initial screen you see when turning on the television. This TV is so big that you’re able to watch tv in one corner of the screen while surfing the web, etc., in another. My home screen makes this TV the centerpiece of the home. You can access apps, surf the web and even make voice memos for other members of your family.
• Built-In Camera – I LOVE having a built in camera on my television. Skype is amazing on a 65 inch tv. My kids get to skype with their grandparents and see them on a HUGE screen instead of a small computer monitor or tablet. The pictures is clear and the app works seamlessly.
• Swipe & Share 2.0 – I tried using Swipe and Share from the Iphone app but unfortunately, my pictures and video would not transfer to the television. I kept receiving an error message. I’m not sure if it’s an iphone issue or the type of media I was sharing but I really hope this works better in the future. The idea is great but the usability is currently limited.
• Audio Performance – Built-In Speakers
The VT60 produces the best sound of any TV I’ve had. That being said, I recommend a better sound system. If you are spending this much on a TV, I suggest using a sound bar or receiver/spearker combo.
•Voice Interaction – using the touchpad remote, I was able easily search for restaurants and sports scores with the press of one button. The voice search accurately picked up what I was saying 90% of the time.
• Electronic Pen – The electronic pen is a large stylus like writing tool that allows you to safely draw on your VT60 plasma. I bought the Electronic pen so my daughter can use the drawing/painting app. She is obsessed and addicted to this app. I have to keep an eye on her to make sure she’s being gentle with the television but I’m really glad I bought the pen. I hope more apps become available that allow use of this pen, but if not, its still worth using on the paint app."
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
4
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
Ben
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
One Of The Best
Date:September 10, 2013
Pros: Easy to use, Durable, Convenient, picture quality, connectivity
Cons: Expensive
"I received the 65" VT60 as part of the early adopter program along with the HTB770 sound system which I have reviewed separately.
To start off, when the TV arrived it was easy to unbox and the assembly of the stand to the TV was straightforward. The setup of my blu ray player and stereo was easily completed and I was up and running in no time!
I was eager to see the picture of what may be one of the best pictures in all of TVs so I popped in the Blu Ray Avatar and hit play. The first thing I noticed is just how colorful and clear the picture was on such a large display. I was also amazed at just how deep the blacks were while still showing details in the shadows. Switching to Coraline 3D really showed off these talents and allowed me to try out the 3D quality if the TV. The depth given was fantastic and the scenes really popped however I did notice some double imaging in high contrast scenes like when Coraline was crawling through the tunnel to the other world as the door on the other end was doubled. The only other thing to be desired is brightness, although the display is bright I find myself turning to the vivid mode, not for any other picture quality but brightness.
That brings me to the next area I discovered. This TV numerous picture settings including a THX and a THX Bright Room setting. These setting are fantastic! With these settings people do not look like carrots or sunburned and other colors look natural not neon. The THX Bright Room setting is brighter but only slightly. I found myself never using the Standard mode as it looked the same as Vivid only dimmer, the same was true of Home Theater. Another area which seems very promising to those who like getting into the bowels to customize their TV will like all of the ways to tweak the picture settings. With all of this being said I have been completely satisfied this the picture quality for all types of watching ranging from action packed and high detailed movies like Avatar, sports, over-the-air TV, Games etc. I saw no blurring and the picture remained clear.
Once I got the picture quality test drive out of my way I decided to start discovering what all the TV had to offer.
First, the new My Home Screen which in my opinion is laid out well and allows for easy customization for your favorite apps. Using the built in camera made it easy for Skype calling since it pops up automatically. It would be nice to see even more App integration with this Built in camera. Also, I was able to use the voice commands with the secondary touch remote in my Home Screen to select apps and control aspects of the app without having to scroll back and forth using a remote!
Second, the Viera Remote 2 app for iOS worked very well. With this I am able to turn my iPad into a smart remote for my TV! I am able to do all of the functions of the remotes on one device. On top of that there is a nice feature called Swipe and Share and I was able to easily send pictures from my iPad straight to the TV wirelessly. I love photography so the is a really cool and easy way to show my friends and family my pictures on a 65" TV! :-) I did encounter some bugs in the app with my previous generation iPad with it switching menu levels by itself however it performed perfectly on my latest generation iPad (both are running the latest version of iOS).
Oh! And although the sound from the TV cannot compare to any dedicated sound system I am very impressed with the sound quality and the range of tones it is able to achieve in such a slim body is fantastic! I would still recommend a dedicated sound system BUT if you have to use the built in speakers then you will be happy.
This TV is a fantastic set in which all the features have worked well and the picture quality was AMAZING! My only desire would be for the set to be brighter. I also have found that I rarely use the touch remote, although it is very nice but I cannot complete all of the functions with that remote alone."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
alan
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
I have owned this product for: 1–3 months
I use this product: more than once per day
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
Wow! Blown Away By the Picture Quality!
Date:August 26, 2013
Pros: Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, excellent picture quality
"Overall, this is an excellent performing TV; the best on the market. Some of the less important features need a bit of work (smartphone remote, voice interaction), but doesn’t take away from the awesome picture quality. When watching a blueray on this TV, everything else doesn’t matter. Its that awesome!
Picture Quality: Excellent!! Picture presets in my opinion are perfect without having to do too many tweaks. For most programming, I use the THX Cinema mode without the motion smoother (a feature I’m still trying to get use to…I feel it makes image movement unnatural). I haven’t had the time to calibrate the picture using the professional and custom modes, but appreciate having the option in case I do get around to using them. Watching action movies is a treat. Dark levels and shades were awesome, coloring is perfect….so much detail with bluray movies and HD content. Sports programming from motorcycle/auto racing to boxing, baseball and basketball look great. This is where the motion smoother works well with fast moving objects.
Smartphone Remote: Using the smartphone as a remote was not ideal. To get to the various buttons required having to scroll to the left or the right to get to the desired buttons. Response is good and all works, but took considerable more time to get what I needed. Maybe this is something that I can become more efficient with over time.
Home Screen: Setup is a breeze, easy and intuitive, but probably something I would not use on a regular basis. With my busy schedule, getting access to things like my calendar, weather status, and other apps is something I prefer to do from my smartphone, on the go. The Home Screen Features are plenty. There is a decent number of relevant apps. I also do like the DLNA feature to pull pictures/videos from my NAS drive. However, there are some videos that would not play so adding support for all video and audio formats would be good.
Built in Camera: Resolution is only OK. However, for things such as Skype, the camera works fine.
Swipe & Share: This feature is great! It worked perfectly. I was able to share picture and videos directly from my phone to the TV wirelessly. Sometimes playback was a little choppy, but only once in a while.
Audio Performance: The built-in speakers play considerably loud without distortion, but lack very deep bass. But this is a given for built-in speakers. Overall good sound, especially for built-ins.
Voice Interaction: Needs some more work. No matter how clear I tried to speak into the remote, more often than not letters like “m” would come out “n”."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
MagPro
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Disc player (DVD, Blu-Ray)
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
Visual Perfection
Date:August 19, 2013
Pros: Easy to use, Durable, Exceeded expectations, tons of usable options
Cons: electronic pen should have been included
"I own the 60VT60 and it has the best picture I've ever seen. I went from a old 50V10, which I thought had awesome black levels. The black levels on this are the best I've seen. I used to be a salesman for a high end A/V store so I've seen them all. But this TV takes the cake. I watched the Stanley Cup and WOW. The motion control was outstanding compared to my old V10. My girlfriend could actually follow the puck! Although she didn't care for the motion smoother when watching Avatar in 3D. I mainly watch the TV in the home theater mode which has pretty accurate color out of the box. I'm going to let the set break in for about 100 hours and then have it professionally calibrated. This TV has so many features I really don't know where to begin, so I'll focus on a few. First the home screen. You can customize it like your smart phone. Choose between two layouts or create your own. Makes it easy to keep up with Facebook and the weather with out checking your phone all the time. You can also upload your own back ground photo. Second is internet connection/apps. It took about 1 min to set up the wireless internet connection so I could Skype my sister. The built in camera works great! There are so many apps I have yet to use them all. I do like to check the weather a lot though. Third is the swipe and share. I downloaded the Viera TV app for my android phone so I could show pics to my girlfriend and not have her saying, "I can't see, gimme your phone". The best feature on the Viera app is the calibration controls. I fool with them daily. There is a slight delay using your phone because it goes through your wireless router. I wish it would be a direct Bluetooth connection. The fourth feature is Voice Interaction. Not a big deal to me but everyone else seems to love it. It works ok, a few times it didn't under stand what I was saying. But I guess all companies are doing it. You can also do the voice commands on the phone app. Another cool gizmo is the 2nd remote. I love the track pad and ease of use. I just wish it had the 3D button like the big remote for ease of 3D viewing. 3D viewing of 3D Blu rays is out of this world. The 2D to 3D conversion is not the best, but no company right now makes it look good. The glasses that come with the TV are the battery type, I kind of wish they were rechargeable, but no big deal. They fit over my eyeglasses and are comfortable. As far as the audio of the TV, the sound is good for a thin TV. I didn't expect them to be as good as they are since I'm an audiophile, but I was impressed with the thin drivers. For the money this TV is outstanding. If you want the best picture and black levels stay away from those LEDs and buy this TV!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
3
Extremely Satisfied
  • Verified Purchaser
blin87
Location: Irvine, CA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: more than once per day
I have purchased the following product: Accessory (battery, cable, SD memory card, etc.)
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
  • Verified Purchaser
Best of the Best
Date:August 16, 2013
Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Exceeded expectations, Convenient, aesthetically pleasing, 3d glasses included, perfect picture
Cons: Expensive
"I thought my last Panasonic TV was the best TV ever, but simply put, the 65VT60 I recently purchased is hands-down the best I have ever seen. The picture quality and vivid color in sports is great, the deep blacks in action movies (Batman) is very crisp and the display is just beautiful. Every time I turn on my TV now it brings a smile to my face.
Some new features that this TV has the previous models did not have: (i) the new remote control, (ii) new home screen format and (iii) built-in flip up camera.
The new remote control is great, very easy to use like a mousepad. However, being a traditionalist, I prefer the app for my iPad. Such a great feature offered transferring YouTube book marks from my tablet right onto my TV.
The new home screen format reminds me of my desktop layout at work. Simple, organized and customize-able. I loved the features that were available on the default screen, but as I continued to dive into it, this TV's options are limitless. As aforementioned, the ability to have data transferred from the tablet to the home screen just makes every sync seamlessly. This has been what everyone is waiting for.
The new pop-up camera. This is a game-changer in my opinion that I have never had on any of my previous TVs. The ability to Skype with my family through my TV display with Panasonic's crystal clear images make this the most enjoyable experience I've had with video chat. I love the ease of use, and I absolutely love the picture quality. We even used it to take a picture at our last dinner party and it was such a great option to have to gather everyone together for a picture since we were already there watching TV together.
Absolutely love this product and very happy to be a new Panasonic TV owner (again and again)!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
Dee
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
I have owned this product for: 3–6 months
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: N/A
I found this support type most helpful: None
Panasonic Early Adopter: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
65" OF GLORY
Date:June 17, 2013
Pros: Exceeded expectations, great quality, worth the money
Cons: a bit heavy, need an expensive wall mount
"Just bought this TV with my boyfriend a few months ago. We love it. The picture is fantastic and it sounds great. Eventually we would like to get a soundbar to add to it but being in a condo, it works perfectly without one. Really easy to use and set up."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5
Extremely Satisfied
mikex
Location: Santa Clara, CA
I have owned this product for: less than a month
I use this product: once per day
I have purchased the following product: multiple products
I found this support type most helpful: Panasonic customer support line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
65VT60
Date:April 22, 2013
Pros: Exceeded expectations
"STUNNING..that's what can be said. Beautiful look. Finally a sound system that's just killer. Picture that is absolutely awesome. The TV itself is just terrific to look at. Out of bounds, killer, major home run for Panasonic. I've looked at them all and there is no equal to this set."
31 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for VIERA 65" Class VT60 Series Full HD Plasma TV (64.7" Diag.)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied
My customer support experience:
Extremely Dissatisfied
5 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied